What's new

HubbleSite 2014 Van Biesbroeck Prize Awarded to Former STScI Deputy Director Hauser


Space Telescope Science

Michael Hauser, former deputy director of the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI) and an adjunct professor in the Johns Hopkins University's Physics and Astronomy Department, will receive the 2014 George Van Biesbroeck Prize from the American Astronomical Society (AAS).

The prize honors a living individual for long-term extraordinary or unselfish service to astronomy, often beyond the requirements of his or her paid position. In its citation, the Van Biesbroeck Prize committee recognized Hauser's long service to the astronomy community. The committee emphasized Hauser's "strategic vision" in establishing and leading the infrared group at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center and later, as STScI's deputy director, where he played a key role in turning STScI into a multi-mission institution.

Continue reading...